Get Adobe Flash player

Contact Us Today for a Free Case Evaluation
Quick Links
Case Results

Charge: Assault - State claimed client hit victim with a telephone and broke victim’s nose. However, the client was acting in self-defense.


Read More

Breathalyzer Refusal

When a person is stopped on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol, he or she may be asked to submit to a breathalyzer test. These tests are intended to gauge an individual’s blood alcohol content (BAC), and failure of a breathalyzer test is considered strong evidence in a DWI case. For this reason, some people may opt to refuse a breathalyzer test. In the state of Texas, refusing a breathalyzer test can result in license suspension, but this penalty is minor compared to those often associated with a DWI conviction.

If you or someone you know has been arrested for DWI in the state of Texas, it is important that you have effective legal representation to ensure that your rights and interests are fully protected. Contact a Houston criminal attorney of Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C., at 713-523-0404 today to discuss the details of your case with a qualified member of our legal team.

Breathalyzer Refusal Penalties

Because of the considerable incentive drunk drivers may have to refuse to submit to chemical testing, Texas has instated penalties for refusing a breathalyzer test. These penalties are as follows:

  • License suspension for 180 days for a first-time offender
  • License suspension for 2 years for those with a drug or alcohol-related offense on their record from the last ten years
  • While these penalties are in no way minor, they may be more desirable than the penalties associated with a DWI conviction.

Contact Us

If you or someone you know has been arrested for DWI or charged with DWI refusal, an experienced legal professional can help. Contact a Houston criminal lawyer of Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C., today at 713-523-0404 to learn more about how you can defend yourself against these damaging accusations.