Get Adobe Flash player

Contact Us Today for a Free Case Evaluation
Quick Links
Case Results

Charge: Assault - State claimed client hit victim with a telephone and broke victim’s nose. However, the client was acting in self-defense.

Verdict: NOT GUILTY

Read More

Can You Plead for a Wet Reckless in Texas?

In the state of Texas, the state law regarding DWI sentencing does not permit a defendant to argue for a reduction of charges down from DWI to a reckless driving involving alcohol charge. In some states, this is termed a “wet reckless”. Though this option is not available for those accused of DWI in Texas, defendants may still pursue lighter sentencing and with the help of committed and experienced legal counsel may be able to negotiate for punishments near the minimum allowed.

If you have been charged with DWI, you simply cannot afford to hesitate seeking legal counsel and representation. For more information about how a reliable legal advisor may be able to work on your behalf, contact the Houston DWI lawyers of Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C., by calling 713-222-0400.

Reducing Sentencing for Texas DWIs

A person may not be able to get their charges dropped down to a wet reckless, but they can still try to fight for minimal sentencing. In Texas, a person may be able to plead for the following minimums:

  • No minimums for fines
  • No required ignition interlock device
  • 90-day license suspension
  • 3-day minimum jail sentence

Before attempting to pursue any sort of plea bargain, a defendant should speak with an attorney about the issue. Some defendants may have particularly strong cases and may not need to plead for lower sentencing as an acquittal or dismissal of the case may be an outcome for which one might reasonably hope.

Contact Us

If you are facing a DWI, it is important that you take every step to ensure that your legal rights and interests are protected. For a case evaluation, contact the Houston DWI lawyers of Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C., at 713-222-0400 today.