Get Adobe Flash player

Archives

Categories

Blogroll

Admin

State could soon allow guns on college campuses

Posted on February 23rd, 2011 No Comments

A controversial measure of legislation may soon pass allowing guns to be carried on public college campuses in Texas.  The legislation would require a certification involving a criminal background check and $100 fee.  In addition, anyone carrying a concealed handgun would have to be at least 21-years of age.

Although the bill has not yet been voted on, more than half of the members of the Texas House of Representatives have signed on as coauthors.  Utah is currently the only state that allows concealed guns to be carried on all public property including public universities.

The bill’s creators argue that allowing concealed weapons on campuses is the best way to prevent a massacre like the one at Virginia Tech from occurring again.

If your or someone you know has been accused of violating weapons laws in Texas, contact the Houston weapons charge attorneys of Johnson, Johnson & Baer P.C. at 713-222-0400 to discuss how to best defend yourself against a weapons charge.